Mom and Old Bricks

I never know when something will remind me of Mom. There I was touring the historic district in Savannah, when I stopped in the street to take a photo. “You’re going to get run over,” my husband said. Luckily I wasn’t flattened by a passing auto, but it was important for me to capture this brick in a photo.

Mom loved old bricks and found unique ones around Kansas that found a new home in her flower beds. I think her interest dated back to her research on the McGhee, Vining and Tower families in Tyro, Kansas in the early 1900s. Besides the glass factory where her father worked as a young man, Tyro had a thriving brick factory.

An old brick in the street in Savannah, Georgia

An old brick in the street in Savannah, Georgia

You can read Mom’s article about the Tyro Bricks online at the Our Echo website.

One thought on “Mom and Old Bricks

Leave a Reply

