Memory Poem

I found a poem that Mom wrote but never published on Our Echo. Perhaps she wanted to polish it some more or didn’t feel it was her best work. It might be from a workshop she attended.

The first letters of each line spell out her name, Gail Martin. Here it is:

That’s Me

Going on a journey

Away back in Time

In my memories I’ll find

Long forgotten happenings

Mostly I recalled the little things

Among my mental souvenirs

Rambling in the Flint Hills

To find a scrubby little cedar

I turned into a Christmas tree

Never thought I’d forget

Gail and Melba Mcghee with grandmother Viola Matilda McGhee

Gail (youngest) with older sister and grandmother. This would be about 1935. They are at the cabin on the Cottonwood where they went to camp and fish.

One thought on “Memory Poem

Leave a Reply

