Four Children and One More on the Way

Here’s my mother, Gail Lee Martin, wearing a maternity smock, so another baby is on the way. Her children (left to right) are Susan, Cindy, Ginger and Owen. The soon-to-arrive child is Karen. That dates this photo to sometime before June 1952.

To the right is her mother-in-law, Cora (Joy) Martin. The photo shows them in Reading, Kansas, where Cora and Ren lived before they retired to Emporia.

I heard that the Reading house became a cafe, but suffered so much damage in the 2011 tornado that it required demolition. When I looked at the newspaper’s slide show of the tornado damage, there’s a vintage purple-painted house in several photos and the twisted sign from The Miracle Cafe. I’m not sure if it is the same house. The details of the front porch don’t seem the same.

I have no idea why I’m wearing a stocking cap on what is obviously a spring day. I’m holding a vintage doll that may have belonged to my grandmother. The bright sun is making us squint.

Gail Martin with her children and her mother-in-law, Cora Joy Martin.

Gail Martin with her children and her mother-in-law, Cora Joy Martin.

A front porch always makes me nostalgic as it probably taps into memories like this. Remember sitting on the front porch back when?

2 thoughts on “Four Children and One More on the Way

  1. I was born in June of ’52, not ’50. I’ve always liked that photo. I don’t really have that many memories of Grandma Martin. When we visited, Mom always made us play outside so the grownups could visit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

