What’s on My Plate?

I’ve been lax about keeping up with the Blog Every Day in May challenge. It has inspired me to write more here than I might otherwise. The topic for today is “What’s on your plate?” Now I could write about food, but the question makes me think of all the things I want to get done.

Mom and I were collaborating on two family books before she died. One was about her aunt, Bertha McGhee, and the other was about her great-grandfather, Abraham Bates Tower. She had some primary source material on both of them and some memories of her aunt.

I rue that I didn’t ask her more questions on the two topics. She had sent home with me the letters, the diary, and other notes, photos and memorabilia on the two relatives. I’ve been diligently researching and reading up on background information to add to the books.

It feels like a huge project, so I need to break each one down into sections and focus on working my way through a section at a time. Maybe then I won’t feel so ineffectual in the progress on the books. I’ve been dragging my feet on transcribing 40 years of Aunt Bertha’s letters. Fortunately her handwriting is fairly clear. I need to do it soon, as there are still some relatives who can answer questions that may turn up from the letters.

Here's Bertha McGhee (on the right) in New Mexico with some of the other teachers from the Navajo school.

Here’s Bertha McGhee (on the right) in New Mexico with some of the other teachers from the Navajo school.

4 thoughts on “What’s on My Plate?

  1. Very cool project, but I am sure it’s overwhelming. I thought mom and I would be able to talk and talk about her childhood and I would learn so much from her, but these days I just never know if its a real story or a mash up of a bunch of memories. Good luck with the book…share how it’s going so we can keep up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

