What If Mom Had Married Someone Else?

My mom and her sister, Carol, had an interesting exchange on our MyFamily site back in October 2003.

Carol Garriott – “Is that a cigarette in Clyde’s hand?!?! I’d completely forgotten Clyde used to smoke!”

Clyde Martin with daughter, Cindy. Christmas time...

Clyde Martin with daughter, Cindy. Christmas time…

Karen Kolavalli – “Yup, it’s a cigarette. Then he moved on to cigars, too. Does seem like a long time ago, though!”

Gail Martin – “The doctor says he didn’t quit soon enough, his lung don’t handle upper respiratory infections. I think he started in high school. Of course if I’d married Johnnie, a non-smoker, I would have been a widow for the last 30 years. ???”

Karen Kolavalli
– “And I’ve never smoked, but my lungs can’t handle upper respiratory infections either.”

Carol Garriott – “And then there’s the thought that if you had married Johnnie, he might be alive today!

I remember Johnnie irritated me because he wanted me to name my black kitten “Whitey.” Isn’t it funny what one remembers?

I also remember being extremely impressed with my big sister one time when two boyfriends showed up on the same day. (I think they were Clyde and Johnnie.)”

John Faylor, Gail's prom date.

John Faylor, Gail’s prom date.

My thoughts on this: Instead of the six Martin kids, we might have been the six Faylors. Maybe there wouldn’t have been six of us even. Who knows.

Gail and Clyde Martin's children in 1959. It was Easter Sunday.

Gail and Clyde Martin’s children in 1959. It was Easter Sunday.

One thought on “What If Mom Had Married Someone Else?

Leave a Reply

