Gail’s Elephant Collection

A guest post by my sister Cindy Ross: “It’s kind of a funny story about my mom’s elephant collection. I don’t know or remember who gave her the first elephant but the collection grew from there until she had quite a few in all different sizes. I’ve been told it’s good luck if the trunk of the elephant is up rather than down.

She kept the elephants in shelves that someone built into the chimney space of the old house. There were glass doors so you could see them.

One day when I asked mom about her collection, or why she picked them to collect. She laughed saying she didn’t pick them, they picked her ~ because as others saw the she had elephants, friends or family kept bringing her more. Mom wanted to share her collection and tried to see that each of the kids, grandkids and great-grands got an elephant.

Mom had the collection with her at the hospital and the rehab center. She was trying to give them to those who arrived. I didn’t get one at that time, but she told me about her intentions.

Now when I see an elephant I think of her. I feel lucky to have such fond memories.”

These elephants were gifts from Gail's daughter Karen, sent from India.

These elephants were gifts from Gail’s daughter Karen, sent from India.

2 thoughts on “Gail’s Elephant Collection

Leave a Reply

