A Random Act of Genealogical Kindness

In Mom’s photo collection are four photos relating to her childhood friend, Dorothy Rose Laird. I wrote about their friendship in another post, so you’ve seen one of the pictures there.

It occurred to me that descendants of Dorothy or relatives would love to have these 60 year old pictures. I researched on the Ancestry site for family trees that included Dorothy Rose Laird.

When I found one, I messaged the owner of the tree asking if she would like the photos to add. She was thrilled. I emailed digital copies of the pictures and I see she has already attached them to the people on her family tree.

Here are the four pictures in case anyone else is looking for Dorothy.

Gail and her school friends standing by her daddy's new car.  Dorothy Rose Laird is in the center, Gail on the right.

Gail and her school friends standing by her daddy’s new car. Dorothy Rose Laird is in the center, Gail on the right.

I could not find details later than 1940 on Dorothy, so I don’t know who she married, where she lived and if she died.

Dorothy Rose and Edna Mae Laird - Greenwood County, Kansas.  Photo from Gail Lee Martin's collection.

Dorothy Rose and Edna Mae Laird – Greenwood County, Kansas.
Photo from Gail Lee Martin’s collection. Edna is 4 years younger than Dorothy.

Gail McGhee and Dorothy Rose Laird - 1930s at Noller School, Greenwood County, Kansas

Gail McGhee and Dorothy Rose Laird – 1930s at Noller School, Greenwood County, Kansas

This one is labeled "Grandmother Lair's house, Potwin, KS." According to Ancestry, Dorothy had a grandmother, Ella, who lived in Potwin.

This one is labeled “Grandmother Laird’s house, Potwin, KS.” According to Ancestry, Dorothy had a grandmother, Ella, who lived in Potwin.

According to that member’s family tree, the grandmother’s name was Mary Ellen “Ella” Combs and she married Thomas Laird.

The good part of sharing these photos is now they are on Ancestry so others who are searching for her will easily find them. The bad part is that Ancestry’s subscription fee keeps many from using it. For that, I’m posting them here.

It turns out that my sister, Karen, had an additional photo of Edna Mae and Dorothy Rose Laird. Here it is.

It turns out that my sister, Karen, had an additional photo of Edna Mae and Dorothy Rose Laird. Here it is.

PS – One of the activities that my mother, Gail, remembered fondly from her school days was learning acrobatics with her friend Dorothy. Click the link to read about that.

2 thoughts on “A Random Act of Genealogical Kindness

  1. You inspired me to do something similar when I was going through a scrapbook that Mom had passed on to me. I think she picked it up at a garage sale; there’s no connection to our family. I came across some old newspaper clippings about an El Dorado man who had been killed in a car accident in 1963. He had the same last name as the husband of one of my daughter’s high school friends, so I contacted them on Facebook and asked if there was a connection. He has some family papers, including a family tree, and this guy is listed, but he’s not quite sure how they’re related yet. I scanned the articles and sent them by FB message; I’m also mailing them the originals. I was impressed that someone his age had all those family history records.

    Like

    • That’s marvelous, Karen. I belong to a Facebook group called Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness and see many of them helping each other out or tracking down a family to restore a Bible to their keeping. It’s a great thing to do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

