E is for Easter Memories

I remember when we bought our Easter shoes, the shoe store would give each child a pastel-colored chick. They were dyed pink, blue and green. I imagine very few of them survived the clutches of their too-young owners, but ours did fine. We took them home and added them to our chicken flock. Once their feathers grew out, they were normal chicken colors.

We dressed in our finest outfits, often made by Mom especially for the holiday. That became our Sunday dress for the rest of the year.

Here I am standing next to my brother, Owen. My two younger sisters have on matching dresses. My older sister holds our sister, Shannon. Ah, memories of Easter fifty years ago.

Gail and Clyde Martin's children in 1959. It was Easter Sunday.

Gail and Clyde Martin’s children in 1959. It was Easter Sunday.

We dyed eggs and had an Easter egg hunt. My mother tells about her 1930s Easter memories on the Our Echo site. There’s an audio recording of her memories so you can hear it in her own voice.

I’m not sure of the date for this Easter Sunday photo of Mom and Grandma. I’m guessing it is the 1950s also.

Gail Martin and her mother, Ruth (Vining) McGhee

Gail Martin and her mother, Ruth (Vining) McGhee

4 thoughts on “E is for Easter Memories

Leave a Reply

