G Is for Ghost Cat – Little Cat and TC

The last cat that lived with Mom and Dad was called Little Cat. I’m not sure when Little Cat came to live with them, but my sister Shannon and her cat were still part of the household. Her earlier cat was TC for Top Cat, a beautiful long-hair tabby.

Shannon wrote to me about coming home from college and told me the following story. Her day off was Thursday. Mom reported that when Thursday came around, TC would sit by Shannon’s door until Mom would open it. Then he would sleep on her bed until she came home. The rest of the week, he wouldn’t pay any attention to her room.

When her schedule changed so that she came home on Tuesday, her cat would wait by the door both Tuesday and Thursday mornings. He’d get quite huffy when Mom didn’t open it because Shannon wasn’t coming that day.

My sister, Shannon Martin, with her cat, TC.

My sister, Shannon Martin, with her cat, TC.

I thought of Mom as a cat person, but Dad always considered them a nuisance. Little Cat converted him. Dad would demonstrate Little Cat’s tricks and tell his latest exploit. Little Cat’s name was usually pronounced Lil Cat, not bothering to include the “t”.

Dad is carving the turkey for Thanksgiving dinner. Lil Cat looks on hopefully.

Dad is carving the turkey for Thanksgiving dinner. Lil Cat looks on hopefully.

After the cat died, both Mom and Dad said they noticed his spirit was still around and would jump onto the bed at night. They had a ghost cat.

Gail's sister, CJ Garriott, took this photo of Lil Cat.

Gail’s sister, CJ Garriott, took this photo of Lil Cat.

Several other people noticed the activities of the ghost cat over the years. Both my aunt and my sister experienced the cat jumping on the bed when they visited. Here’s my sister’s memory of it:

“I remember her ghost visiting when my daughter and I stayed there. On our first trip back from India, we were sleeping in Shannon and Dave’s popup camper in the driveway. Mom and Dad had gone to Prescott this particular time. A big, scary thunderstorm hit in the middle of the night, so my daughter and I ran inside and finished the night in the folks’ bed. Little Cat jumped up on the end of the bed, walked around a bit, and then curled up at my feet to sleep.”

 

3 thoughts on “G Is for Ghost Cat – Little Cat and TC

  1. Sweet Little Cat – I love that her spirit was still there, sleeping on the bed at night! I have a 23 year old cat – it’s true. We’ve had her since she was 6 weeks old. We keep getting prepared for her death but she just keeps on going – ha! Love your post!

    Like

  2. I have a friend who once had a dog he named Big Dog. Then once a roommate of mine acquired two cats that he named Kitty One and Kitty Two. They both looked alike to me and I never did figure one from the other.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Wrote By Rote

    Like

Leave a Reply

