U is for Uncluttering

The topic in the Unclutterer newsletter this week made me stop and ponder. It was about parting with sentimental clutter. Oh Oh, a delicate subject, for sure.

The first advice was to keep just the items you’ll display or use. I think of the 25 boxes of genealogy files, family photos and Mom’s writing that I brought home two years ago. Yes, those have a definite purpose as I’m hunting through them for information for the three books that Mom and I were working on together. Now it is a solo project, but the files are crucial to completing those.

The article then recommends that items not being actively used or displayed, at least be limited to what will fit inside a designated space. It recommends a single chest or a keepsake box. I’m stretching it a little to what will fit in my genealogy room shelves and cupboards.

Here's the guest room in our house with the shelving and work space. Hidden behind another cabinet is the murphy bed for guests.

Here’s the guest room in our house with the shelving and work space. Hidden behind another cabinet is the murphy bed for guests.

Keeping boxes of odds and ends in the garage or basement gathering dust is not a fitting way to honor your loved one. I can surely agree with that. They suggest selecting a few really meaningful pieces to feature in some way like in a shadow box.

Here’s a final thought from the Unclutterer article.

Remember that items don’t have magical properties, memories do.

6 thoughts on “U is for Uncluttering

  1. Your space looks marvelous. I’m working on my mom’s pictures and journal to tell her story of coming to California from Kansas at the age of 22 in 1942 during WWII. To me she was a truly brave young woman. Thanks for your inspiration Virginia.

    Like

    • I have gotten rid of some items I wish I could go back in time and get. I find that as long as I can keep putting up shelves and putting material in binders, I can find what I need when I need it. Mostly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

