Remembering My Youngest Sister

Early June is the birthday of my littlest sister, Shannon. In rereading old letters from her, I found some of her drawings too. Mostly she put little sketches in the margin of the letters.

She liked to draw horses and cartoon style characters. One Halloween, she decorated the envelope with jack o’ lanterns, a ghost and a witch.

Shannon Martin's childhood drawings for Halloween.

Shannon Martin’s childhood drawings for Halloween.

One of her letters featured a thumbprint drawing of a reindeer. I think she got the idea for those from Ed Emberley’s books. Being the creative girl that she was, the designs she created were quite a bit more sophisticated than what’s shown in the books.

Shannon created some delightful thumbprint art.

Shannon created some delightful thumbprint art.

Why not sit the kids down with an ink pad, some wet-wipes, scrap paper and colored pencils. They’ll have a great time. There’s a video on Youtube that demonstrates thumbprint art.

By high school, Shannon’s art skills had progressed to this.

Shannon Martin's drawing of a moth for her entomology project.

Shannon Martin’s drawing of a moth for her entomology project.

I treasure a drawing she made for me of my cat sitting on the windowsill. It’s framed and on display in my guestroom. I know mother encouraged Shannon’s artistic interests and took pride in her accomplishments.

One thought on “Remembering My Youngest Sister

  1. Pingback: How to Raise Good Children the Old-Fashioned Way | Discovering Mom

Leave a Reply

