Gail’s Big Fish Story

Back in 2006, Gail posted this story on the Our Echo website:

Summer Fun

Since we retired from money-making jobs a few years ago, we have enjoyed fishing in eastern Kansas lakes. Several years ago we were fishing in a small city lake where the fish were fed with floating fish food. As the fish food went floating by I suddenly had a terrific bite. The line was being pulled off my 404 Zebco reel faster than I could handle.

Finally, the fish began to respond to my efforts to reel him in, but in the meantime, he was all over that body of water. My folding lawn chair fell over as I tried to stand up. I stumbled over the tackle box. Thus scattering hooks and sinkers all around as the fish maneuvered me from one side of the dock to the other. In the process, it was tangling up my line with the other three that my husband and I had in the water.

One by one my husband untangled the lines and got them out of my way. Still, this monster of the deep was dragging off more line than I was reeling in. During all this commotion my fishing partner was issuing instruction by the mouthful. I knew one or two things was going to happen. The fish would break the line and I’d lose the fish or the fish would pull me into the lake.

Time after time the fish would begin to tire allowing me to bring him closer to shore. Then, in a new burst of energy, away across the lake he’d go. After hours (later I found out it was only 30 minutes) of grueling strain, I finally had the fish close enough for us to see how big he really was. The Oracle of fishing commands grabbed the fish net to be ready to assist in the final landing, only to realize this net wouldn’t even hold the fish’s tail.

30 pound grass carp caught at Sugar Valley

Gail Martin in her fishing attire with the 30-pound grass carp she caught at Sugar Valley, Kansas.

But God was good. The giant grass carp became so tired I was able to drag him ashore as my amazed spouse gave a boost to the tail section with our woefully small net. Definitely, a fish to tell ‘tall tales’ about and be truthful. He was as long as a yardstick and weighed thirty pounds. Tasted good too.

Comments

  • Posted 05/15/2006 by Carol J Garriott – This is hilarious! From the stumbling chaos created by the pull from the fish to the “oracle of fishing commands,” the reader is immersed in the activity. Great fun.
  • Posted 06/02/2006 – Great fish story–but where’s the photo to prove it?! Karen
  • Posted 06/14/2006 21:56 by Gail Lee Martin – Well I have a picture but haven’t learned how to get from the scanner to OurEchoes. One picture was sent to the state wildlife people who gave me a state angler’s award.
  • Posted 07/19/2007 04:04 – This is a captivating fish tale, but you didn’t tell us about the one that got away, or whether or not you’re brave enough to bait your own hook!
  • Way to go, Gail…that angler award is nifty. Does your hubby have one, too? Blessings, Sandi in FL.
  • Posted 07/19/2007 by Gail Lee Martin – Oh my, those big fish broke so many lines before we learned how to let them run and get tired then bring them in again. Kindy like deep sea fishing. Yes, Clyde received a Kansas Angler award also that same summer. Your comments are so appreciated. Made My Day, Gail
  • Posted 10/31/2008 – Wow, a thirty-pound fish. Your story took me away from our cool weather and transported me back to days of fishing with my Zebco 33. Happy fishing memories. RLP
fish certificate

Gail Martin’s award for Master Angler from the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks.

Leave a Reply

