My Little Notebook Fetish

I’m procrastinating on preparing a presentation for Tuesday. Something like that gets me started tidying my desk. Lurking here and there on my desk and in the cubbies are lots of small notebooks.

small notebooks

I wasn’t kidding — I have a lot of notebooks

I’ve turned up 14 so far. Of course, I have to check inside to see if anything valuable is in each one. I found notes from a trip two years ago, some self-development exercises I’d still like to try, some outdated computer passwords, and a list of books to read someday.

I don’t have time to act on any of these right now, so I’ll bundle the notebooks together and stash them away again. I’ll never run out of things to do in this lifetime. If I should, I can just grab a notebook and flip to a random page.

This behavior seems to run in our family. Mom had quite a collection of little notebooks too. How about you? Do you have a stash of notebooks too?

(Originally published on Bubblews, January 2015 – by Virginia Allain)

5 thoughts on “My Little Notebook Fetish

  1. Oh yes. In our house, notebooks proliferate like coat hangars. About 15 years ago, I went through bankers boxes full of notebooks. For decades I had saved all my journals and all my notes from political action meetings. Reading through some of those notebooks I did a thing I thought I never would do. I made sure there were no identifying names or addresses in them. Boxed them all up. Wrapped tons of tape around them, and unable to find any safe way to burn or dissolve them, sent them to the dump, saving back only a very few. Why? I was tired of carrying around all that emotional baggage. Boy, did they hold a lot. I’ve never regretted that decision.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

