The Cowboy with a Broken Arm

Did you have any childhood injuries or broken bones? I was pretty lucky and never broke anything as a kid, but my siblings sure had their share.

cowboy broken arm 1950s

Owen Martin doesn’t let a broken arm deter him from his cowboy games.

The photo shows my brother, Owen, with his arm in a sling. He broke that arm playing cowboy at my grandparent’s farm. There was a saddle hanging on a wooden rail and he climbed up on it. When it tipped off the fence, he ended up with the broken arm.

As you can see, it didn’t dampen his enthusiasm for being a cowboy. Here he has on his cowboy hat and his pistol in his hand. The photo below shows him before the brangle with the saddle.

One of my sisters broke her collarbone when we lived in El Dorado. Later, when we lived in the country, my littlest sister suffered a broken leg when I tripped over her while playing softball in our driveway. I felt horrible about that. I was angry with her for getting in the way, then we realized something was wrong.

shirtless 1950s boy with saddle

Here’s Owen with that saddle, a gun, a cowboy hat and no shirt.

How about you? Did you fall and break any bones as a child?

(memory piece by Virginia Allain, Gail’s daughter)

Quick Definition, in case I stumped anyone with “brangle.” It means a brief squabble. 

2 thoughts on “The Cowboy with a Broken Arm

  1. Age 11 & 12 I broke my left arm and right leg, then six years ago I broke my left ankle, so that makes three broken bones, that enough, hope I don’t have anymore.
    Thanks for sharing all the posts about “finding your mom”, there has been some interesting memories of years gone by for me as well while reading your blog
    Have a nice weekend.

    Like

  2. I never broke a bone as a kid. I had a few sprained ankles, but that was it. However one of my younger brothers kept getting deep gashes that required stitches. At one time, it seemed that he had stitches he’s on every side of his noggin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

