Book Award Named after Gail Lee Martin

In 2010, Gail Lee Martin won the Ferguson Kansas History Book Award for her book My Flint Hills Childhood. The award, presented annually at the Kansas Authors Club convention, was discontinued in 2017. Gail was one of the last winners of the award.

The amount given to the winner, under the Ferguson Book Award, was $100.00. Gail’s daughters decided to revive the history book award using funds donated to KAC for the Gail Martin memorial fund. The new name for the award is the Gail Lee Martin Kansas History Book Award it will continue for at least 10 years. If more donations are contributed to the memorial fund, it can run longer. In previous years, the memorial fund paid for speakers for the convention.

If you’d like to check out what the contest rules were for the Ferguson Book Award, here’s the site:

It would be good to streamline the process, so if you have any suggestions, please add them in the comments on this blog.

gail book award meme pixabay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s